Beware of changes in Form I-601 filing process.

USCIS_I601_logo

Waiver applicants located outside the United States filed Form I-601, Application for Waiver of Grounds of Inadmissibility, as well as any associated Form I-212, Application for Permission to Reapply for Admission into the United States after deportation or removal, with USCIS by submitting the applications to United States Embassies or Consulates. To the international USCIS office with jurisdiction for decision the Embassy or Consulate then forwarded the applications.

Applications filed by applicants outside of the United States were adjudicated by the international USCIS office having jurisdiction over the country where the application was filed. In 2011, there was an interim change to the historical filing process in that international USCIS offices co-located with American Consulates and Embassies began to receive the filing of Form I-601 and Form I-212 applications at their respective locations.

On June 4, 2012, USCIS adopted a comprehensive change to the Form I-601 filing process for waiver applicants located outside the United States requiring that waiver filers located abroad file their waiver application with the USCIS Phoenix Lockbox. For the first 6 months of this change, through Dec. 4, 2012, USCIS made an exception allowing Form I-601 waiver applicants located in Mexico the option of filing their Form I-601 applications and any associated Forms I-212, with the USCIS Ciudad Juarez Field Office or with the USCIS Phoenix Lockbox. This exception expired on December 4, 2012.

Effective December 5, 2012, applicants in Mexico may no longer file Form I-601, Application for Waiver of Grounds of Inadmissibility at the USCIS Ciudad Juarez Field Office or any associated Form I-212, Application for Permission to Reapply for Admission into the United States after deportation or removal. Applicants in Mexico must now file Form I-601 and associated Form I-212 with the USCIS Phoenix Lockbox. 

This announcement does not affect Form I-601 filings that may be eligible for processing by a USCIS international office due to exceptional and compelling humanitarian reasons or Form I-601 filings with the Havana Field Office for waiver applicants in Cuba.  For further information, please see  Exceptions for Permitting the Filing of Form I-601 policy memorandum.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

